Pregnancy Playlist

My hubbers sent me an interesting article the other day about the music parents want their children to listen to, which made me pose the question “What are the top 5 musicians you want your babies to listen to in utero?”

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 12.28.37 PM

Because those are the types of questions I ask. Also, because I think if you hit them with the good stuff (musically) while they’re developing (literally) then you will have the best chance of not fighting over what’s playing on the radio on family road trips. This may just be the key to family harmony….

My top 5 had already changed about 10 times, but I think I’ve finally landed on a list I (and my future embryos) can live with.

1. Johnny Cash.

2. Jimi Hendrix.

3. Willie Nelson.

4. Dolly Parton (Full disclosure, Grace made me realize this was a necessity)

5. Otis Redding.

Obviously, my embry-yo-yos will have lots more to listen to than this (my husband and I compulsively listen to and collect music) but these are my top 5. Until I change my mind again.

Who are the top 5 artists you hope your kiddos listen to and love?

– Mae

7 thoughts on “Pregnancy Playlist

  1. Hmmm top 5 artists. Well my husband to be and I would have to say The Feeling (british band), I’d have to say Kings of Leon cause I just think they’re that good. Also the band The White Lies (another british one). And I know my fiancé would have to say video game music because he loves it so much and one of his offspring must love it too. And the last one would probably be the Moody Blues cause that’s music that has really touched his whole family and mine.

  2. I’m only 22 years old so kids are not on my “to do” list just yet but If I had to compile a list it would have to be..
    1. Joss Stone
    2. James Morrison
    3. Keyshia Cole
    4. D Angelo
    5. Brian Mcknight

  3. I don’t know about in utero, but my friend’s baby falls to sleep to Avril Lavinge and Lady Gaga. ^^ I think she will be a lot of punk awesome when she gets older.

  4. I guess in my Top Five I would insist on some of the following as essential to development of both body and soul for my children:

    1: U2
    2: Old Crowe Medicine Show
    3: Jackson Brown
    4: Sam Cooke
    5: Bob Dylan (close 2nd could be argued for Leonard Cohen)

    I am a huge lover of music- all music.. but, this is not a bad place to start.

Leave a Reply

