The Lip Balm Quest

Joan of Arc

Ladies, I am on a quest. My quest is one I think you are all familiar with, although, that makes it no less treacherous or difficult. Ok, treacherous may have been a tad hyperbolic. But, it has been difficult. Since the age of 13, I have been on a quest for the perfect lip balm. Let me define what I mean by “perfect,” because I’m well aware that our definitions may vary based on our individual lip needs.

1. Must provide long-lasting moisture.

2. Must make my lips look soft and kissable.

3. Must have a light sheen, not glossy exactly, more like glossy-adjacent.

4. Must not be sticky.

5. Must not dry my lips out. (This seems obvious but trust me, it’s been a problem with more than one lip balm I’ve tried)

Five requirement for perfect lip balm. Only five. It seems like my quest should have ended ages ago, yet here I am, still questing. I have tried every type of lip balm imaginable. I’ve tried the natural, the “intensely moisturizing”, the oil based, the fruit based, the exfoliating, and the  lip swelling (bad reaction). Seriously, y’all, I’ve tried it all. I’ve paid $30 for one tube of lip balm. One tube. I don’t know about you guys, but when I pay $30 dollars for lip balm, I expect that shit to work like a charm. I expect it to make my boyfriend go wild with wanting to kiss me. I expect it to pay my credit card bill. Unfortunately, it couldn’t even keep my lips hydrated till morning. Yep, that’s correct, I put it on before bed and woke up with Sahara desert lips. Why was I chosen for this Zeus-forsaken quest??! Why haven’t I found my perfect lip balm match yet? Where is it? What is it? Does it cost $30?? I need answers Universe and I need them now!

Seriously, my lips are pretty dry. I could use those answers.

Any suggestions my blogging amigas? What type of lip balm do you use? And does it pay your credit card bill?

– Mae

30 thoughts on “The Lip Balm Quest

  1. You’re not hydrated enough! Trust me on this, you might think you’re drinking enough water but if you’re lips are ever dry it’s a sign that you’re not guzzling enough. Those little dry pieces of skin, that I lovingly refer to as flappies, will disappear right away with a good (ten) rounds of H2O.

    And I’m a Korres gal but I have to assume Grace has introduced you to the stuff and it didn’t live up to your standards. ::sheds a tear:

    • I do like Korres, and yes Grace did introduce me to it, but it didn’t quite do the trick. I love their lips tints though. Also, I feel like I do drink enough water, I drink about 96 ounces a day of plain water plus 4 cups of green tea. If I drink any more water, I will literally turn into a mermaid. Actually, that is a good reason to drink more water…..

  2. Make a scrub of honey and sugar and leave it on your lips for 10-15 minutes every night before washing it off. The honey makes your lips SUPER soft and the sugar acts as an exfoliant. I have crazy dry lips but have been doing this for a few months and it really helps. Great immediate effect, and after a while of regular use it helps hours later too.

  3. I’ve always used Blistex in the pink pot. Maybe that’s basic, but the sheen is nice, lasts for hours, and feels really smooth. Costs like 2 bucks. The only thing is the initial smell might turn you off, but it fades and the effect is worth it.

  4. This is not at all helpful really…. but I got this lip balm in Bulgaria. It’s made out of rose oil. It smells amazing. It tastes amazing. My lips feel and look amazing. And I’m almost out! If I find it online, I’ll definitely share the link. (Here is something similar, but not the same lip balm that I have. Mine comes in a clear pot with a red lid. No idea what the company is. http://www.amazon.com/Bulgarian-Rose-0-15oz-Alteya-Organics/dp/B001IHMVOM%5D

  5. ROSEBUD SALVE. I have chronic dry lips and have tried almost every lip balm/gloss/gloss-balm/moisturizer on the market, and this stuff is by far the best. Sephora refers to it as a “cult favorite.” You can wear it under lip gloss/lipstick with no problem, but I usually wear it alone.

    • Tried it, it seemed to work for about 3 weeks and then it started drying my lips out. I must have freaky sensitive lips or something…

  6. This. This, this, this, this, this: http://sallyhansen.com/products/lips/lip-care/overnight-lip-recovery

    It has a faintly minty fragrance, it tingles a little, and after 3-5 nights of applying it before bed, all manner of sins (read: cracks, chapping, etc.) will be erased, leaving you with smooth, soft lips. As someone who used to suffer perpetually dry and peeling lips year-round, I swear by this product. Once your lips are nicely revitalized, you can use whatever gloss-like product you want to achieve extra daytime loveliness.

    Hope you’ll blog the results of any ongoing experimentation… for SCIENCE!

  7. I have also tried many lip balms but I keep going back to a fairly common one, Burt’s Bees Replenishing lip balm with pomegranate oil. I have a few hiding in various locations, ready to report for duty when needed.

  8. If you can get your hands on some Lucas’ Pawpaw Ointment all your problems will be solved. It is a serious fantastic product. It’s even great as a injury cream, on insect bites, and in fact it’s so awesome it probably can pay your credit card bill.
    I’m an outdoors girl (snow, water, mountains) and this is the best thing for preventing sun and wind burnt lips. http://lucaspawpawointment.com/

    I apply it over lipstick sometimes too for extra moisture. I don’t work for them either in case you’re wondering!

  9. I know this is pretty basic, but I like Carmex – it’s cheap, effective, and not at all sticky, but it doesnt rub off as fast as some of the other ones I’ve tried.

  10. But you know that lip balms, traditionally are a waxy coating to protect!!! Lips, not really heal….so that being said why not treat the dryness at night with Laura Mercier lip silk which will exfoliate dead skin and then use a lip treatment during the day that will hydrate such as kiehls lip balm which is great!!

  11. Absolutely try Aquaphor. It was suggested to me by a dermatologist when I was on an extremely drying medication. It works wonders, but unfortunately, no credit card bill paying there.

  12. We have the same problem. The brand where I regularly buy my lip balm from don’t sell them anymore and so I have to switch. It’s been 3 months. I can’t seem to find one that was as perfect as the old one. Oh the woes of a woman!

Leave a Reply

